Firearms Process

Initial Application

To obtain a gun permit in Indiana, you must meet the following criteria:

  • You must be 18 years of age.
  • You must be a resident of Indiana.

The initial application must be completed on-line.

Please read the directions completely and remember to save your application. You will need to print the confirmation page and bring it to our office when paying the local fees.

Inkless Fingerprinting


L1-INKless FINGERPRINTING is $11.95. Follow the link below.

After completing the above process, please bring your receipt from L-1 INKless FINGERPRINTING to your local law enforcement agency for payment. Please bring the exact cash and you will be issued a receipt.  (If you live on a county road take your local payment to the Ripley County Sheriff’s Office; if you live in town limits, take your payment to your local Police Department.)


Fees Effective July 1, 2021

License TypeLocal FeeState Fee
Five Year Hunting & Target$0$0
Five Year Personal Protection$0$0
Lifetime Hunting & Target$0$0
Lifetime Personal Protection$0$0
DuplicateNot provided in law$20
Retired Law Enforcement OfficerNot provided in lawFee Exempt
Retired Corrections OfficerNot provided in lawFee Exempt
Dealer Licenses to SellNot provided in law$60
The Personal Protection Permit will cover hunting also, however, if you only apply for a Hunting Permit, you will not be permitted to carry your weapon off of your own property.
If you live inside any town limits with a Town Marshal, (i.e. Versailles, Osgood, Milan, Holton, Batesville, or Sunman), you must apply through the Town Marshal’s Office.
Scroll to Top