Ripley County Council Meeting

June 19, 2023

Councilman President, Peggy Ehlers, opened the County Council Meeting with the Pledge of the Allegiance. **Roll Call.**

Present: Peggy Ehlers, President, Katie Bailey, Diane Macek, Ron Decker, David Tebbing, Andrew Decker, Amy Copeland, Auditor & John Ertel, Attorney. Stan Wiedeman was absent.

Motion: Councilman Tebbing made the motion to approve the May 15, 2023 meeting minutes, **Action:** Approve, **Moved by** David Tebbing, **Seconded by** Ron Decker. Motion passed 6 yes 1 absent.

New Business:

Randy Frye

Mr. Frye was in to talk about the 2023 legislation. Mr. Frye stated that volunteer fire departments are deteriorating and having a hard time with funding. House bill 1454 would help fund the volunteer fire departments. This funding could also help make part of the fire departments have full time employees. The income tax increase could be .01% to .05%. The Council has talked to the fire fighters and stated that they would be helping with this when they do the paperwork for the public safety tax.

Old Business:

Public Safety Tax

The Council has decided to proceed with the paperwork for the public safety tax. The Council has decided to let the attorney do the paperwork to send to the DLGF if it can get approval. The Council would like to do a 1% increase in the local income tax for public safety if the DLGF would approve.

The Sheriff asked a lot about the public safety tax and where the money would go.

Committee Reports:

Economic Development – Andrew Decker - none Technology Committee - Katie Bailey - none SEI Regional Planning Committee – Diane Macek - none Solid Waste District - David Tebbing - none Grants Committee - Stan Wiedeman – none

Motion: Councilman Tebbing made the motion to Adjourn, Action: Adjourn, Moved by David Tebbing, Seconded by Katie Bailey. Motion passed 6 yes 1 absent.

"AYE " Council President

Stan Wiedeman Katie Bailey "NAY"

Peggy Ehlers, Council President

Stan Wiedeman

Katie Bailey

Andrew Decker cl ler. 1

Ron Decker, President Pro Tem

nacek Deane Diane Macek David Tebbing

Amy Coneland Auditor

Auditor, Ripley County

ATTEST:

Andrew Decker

Ron Decker, President Pro Tem

Diane Macek

David Tebbing

Amy Copeland