Ripley County Council 2023 Budget Reviews

August 16, 2022

The 2023 Budget Review Meeting was called to order by Council President, Ron Decker, with the pledge of allegiance. Six Council Members were present (Ron Decker, Stan Wiedeman, Katie Bailey, Andrew Decker, Peggy Ehlers, & Steve Gloyd. Also present were Auditor Amy Copeland and First Deputy Danielle McGee. Council Member David Tebbing was absent.

The non-profit organizations that were appearing requesting funds were Children's Advocacy Center (Kelli Jette) and New Horizons (Maria D), Safe Passage (Mary Mattingly) and Human Society (Dana Rowe). Each presented their organization's purpose and requested funding for 2023. Each organization was told they would be contacted on what the council was able to give for the 2023 year.

County Departments/Offices interviewed were: EMS (Scott Huffman), Health Department (Lexi Bushhorn), Area & Planning (Tad Brinson), Clerk (Elizabeth Baumgartner) and EMA (Randy Miller). Each Department/Office explained the changes they were requesting to their 2023 budget.

At the end of the day Council Member, Stan Wiedeman, moved to recess to 9:00am 8/17/2022. Council Member, Peggy Ehlers, 2nd the motion. Motion passed 6 yes, 1 absent.

August 17, 2022

All Council Members were present except for David Tebbing, also present were Auditor Amy Copeland and First Deputy Danielle McGee.

The non-profit organizations that were appearing requesting funds were Lifetime (Erin Thomas) & Economic Development (Gary Norman). Each presented their organization's purpose and requested funding for 2023. Each organization was told they would be contacted on what the council was able to give for the 2023 year.

County Departments/Offices interviewed were: Probation/Court Services (Shannon Schmaltz & Miki Riehle), Treasurer (Lisa Vestal), Assessor (Shawna Bushhorn), Sheriff (Jeff Cumberworth & Ruth Ann Adkinson) & Prosecutor (Ric Hertel). Each Department/Office explained the changes they were requesting to their 2023 budget.

At the end of the day Council Member, Peggy Ehlers, moved to recess to 9:00am 8/18/2022. Council Member, Andrew Decker, 2nd the motion. Motion passed 6 yes 1 absent.

August 18, 2022

All Council Members were present except for David Tebbing, also present were Auditor Amy Copeland and First Deputy Danielle McGee.

County Departments/Offices interviewed were: County Commissioners (Mark Horstman, President, Kendall Hankins, Chris Schmaltz) and Highway Department (Ray Toops). Each Department/Office explained the changes they were requesting to their 2023 budget.

The County Council continued to finish up the discussion of the requests and reviews of the proposed budgets.

Enclosed with these minutes are copies of each budget with the votes and changes that may have been made.

Ripley County Council 2023 Budget Reviews

With no further business to attend, Council Member, Peggy Ehlers, made the motion to adjourn, Council Member, Andrew Decker, 2nd the motion. Motion passed 6 yes 1 absent.

"AYE" On lun	"NAY"
Ron Decker, Council President	Ron Decker, Council President
Stan Wieden	
Stan Wiedeman	Stan Wiedeman
Katie Bailey	Katie Bailey
Andrew Decker	Andrew Decker
Steven Gloyd, President Pro Tem	Steven Gloyd, President Pro Tem
Reggy Shlers Reggy Ehlers Talula	Peggy Ehlers
David Tebbing	David Tebbing
ATTEST:	
Amy Copeland Auditor, Ripley County	Amy Copeland