Ripley County Council 2024 Budget Reviews

August 15, 2023

The 2024 Budget Review Meeting was called to order by Council President, Peggy Ehlers, with the pledge of allegiance. Seven Council Members were present (Ron Decker, Stan Wiedeman, David Tebbing, Katie Bailey, Andrew Decker, Peggy Ehlers, & Diane Macek. Also present were Auditor Amy Copeland and First Deputy Danielle McGee.

Councilman Andrew Decker made the motion to give all elected officials and full time employees a \$5,000.00 dollar raise. Councilman Stan Wiedeman 2nd the motion. Motion passed 6 yes & 1 no.

Councilman Katie Bailey made the motion to give all part time employees a \$1.28 raise per hour. Councilman Ron Decker 2nd the motion. Motion passed 7 yes.

Councilman Katie Bailey made the motion to move Toni Halcomb from a Deputy Sheriff to Deputy Administrator in the Sheriff's Department. Councilman David Tebbing 2nd the motion. Motion passed 7 yes.

County Departments/Offices interviewed were: EMS (Scott Huffman), Clerk (Elizabeth Baumgartner), Sheriff (Rob Bradley & Lee Davidson), 911 (Leah Hildebrand), Prosecutor (Ric Hertel), and Coroner (Jason Bailey). Each Department/Office explained the changes they were requesting to their 2024 budget.

At the end of the day Council Member, Katie Bailey, moved to recess to 9:00am 8/16/2023. Council Member, Andrew Decker, 2nd the motion. Motion passed 7 yes.

August 16, 2023

All Council Members were present, also present were Auditor Amy Copeland and First Deputy Danielle McGee.

The non-profit organizations that were appearing requesting funds were Children's Advocacy Center (Kelli Jette), Safe Passage (Cari Kettman), Lifetime (Jamie Brown), Economic Development (Gary Norman), New Horizons (Jimmy Ryan), and the Upper Room (Tim/Josh MacPhee). Each presented their organization's purpose and requested funding for 2024. Each organization was told they would be contacted on what the council was able to give for the 2024 year.

County Departments/Offices interviewed were: Health Department (Lexi Bushhorn), Probation/Court Services (Shannon Schmaltz & Miki Riehle), Park (Christi Volz). Each Department/Office explained the changes they were requesting to their 2024 budget.

At the end of the day Council Member, Stan Wiedeman, moved to recess to 9:00am 8/17/2023. Council Member, Andrew Decker, 2nd the motion. Motion passed 7 yes.

August 17, 2023

All Council Members were present, also present were First Deputy Pam Franklin and First Deputy Danielle McGee.

County Departments/Offices interviewed were: County Commissioners (Mark Horstman, President, Kendall Hankins, Chris Schmaltz) and Highway Department (Jason Edwards). Each Department/Office explained the changes they were requesting to their 2024 budget.

Ripley County Council 2024 Budget Reviews

The County Council continued to finish up the discussion of the requests and reviews of the proposed budgets.

Enclosed with these minutes are copies of each budget with the votes and changes that may have been made.

With no further business to attend, Council Member, Andrew Decker, made the motion to adjourn, Council Member, Stan Wiedeman, 2nd the motion. Motion passed 7 yes.

Peggy Ehlers, Council President

Wieden

Stan Wiedeman Bailey

rew Decker

Ron Decker, President Pro Tem

nacl Brane Diane Macek

David Tebbing

"NAY"

Peggy Ehlers, Council President

Stan Wiedeman

Katie Bailey

Andrew Decker

Ron Decker, President Pro Tem

Diane Macek

David Tebbing

ATTEST:

Copeland Amy

Auditor, Ripley County

Amy Copeland